Your Inner Fish Part 2

What did you think about the reading?

My thoughts on this portion of the book are the same as they were on the first portion. At some points it can drag on, but other times it can be interesting. Overall, I found it informative yet dull, lacking the excitement that most look for when reading a book, tantamount to reading a textbook filled with anecdotes.

What did you learn?

I learned about the zone of polarizing activity as well as the hedgehog gene, and their importance in proper limb development. I was also not previously aware how important teeth are to paleontology and evolution, and the connections between teeth and skeletons. I found the information particularly surprising regarding how much study goes into teeth, and the fact that one man claims to have the ability to reproduce a whole skeleton from a single tooth. I learned about fossil expeditions as well, and fossil spotting methods. I also had never made the observation that human teeth fit together and reptile’s teeth do not.

What questions do you still have?

Shubin did an excellent job of explaining things in an easy to understand form, and because of this, I had very little questions that were left unanswered in this section.

3 thoughts on “Your Inner Fish Part 2

  1. I thought Sonic(the)hedgehog genes were the most interesting part of the book. The majority of the paleontology stuff(his particular examples, this time using jaws/teeth, of how simpler anatomical structures evolve to the more complex ones we use today)can get really tedious and boring. I don’t recall him ever illuminating precisely how the gene in question works, though how it is latent in species so diverse is pretty cool(though its enough proof of evolution to render the tedious paleontology superfluous.) Shubin really needs to stick to science and not talk about his expeditions/camping trips. I also though his writing style was extremely clear and understandable.

  2. I agree a lot of this is similar to the first section. Although I continue to learn more about our commonalties with other species and about the field of paleontology just like you did. I was also surprised on how paleontologists handle their work and all the types of techniques they used. Lastly, I also thought Shubin explained most of the things in detail, so I didn’t have much questions either.

  3. In this part of the book, I was able to learn many new concepts as well. The hedgehog gene was very interesting. It Made me ponder about our endless similarities to other animals. However, I am not sure If Shubin will truly convinvce me about his theory of evolution; I will have to continue reading to findout.

Leave a Reply

