Your Inner Fish Part 2

      I found the next section of Your Inner Fish to be very factual and involving in the topic of commonalities with other species. I also liked how Shubin titled some of his chapters with a sense of humor (“Getting Ahead ” talks about the heads of different organisms). These chapters taught me a lot of new scientific terms that I have never heard of before and taught me some interesting facts about paleontology. It also refreshed my knowledge on some of the topics we discussed in biology and embryology, like our formation from a single cell to a placenta, eventually leading to a fully developed human. These chapters focused mostly on anatomical structures, therefore gave me a larger scale of comparison with other creatures as to gene comparison. I really enjoyed learning more about our relationship with other organisms in this section and continue to wonder how Shubin will continue to educate us in the other half of the book. Thankfully, Shubin explains everything in detail to leave little room for questions.

2 thoughts on “Your Inner Fish Part 2

  1. I share your fascination with Shubin’s incorporation of embryology and paleontology, two sciences that interest me (i.e. the former) and are new to me (especially the latter). The comparison was an interesting factor as well. A noteworthy remark might be that Shubin not only uses comparative analyses in the appearance and genes of organisms, but also studies the processes essential to growth and development. In these descriptions, surprising similarities reveal the relationships between seemingly unrelated animals. I too am excited to get to the rest of the novel.

  2. I love the fact that Shubin includes a topic that I can relate to very well as it is something that I would love to study in college. Embryological study can lead to so many positive discoveries that can cure some disease without any consequences when the child is born. By using an extensive amount of comparison of humans to many animals, Shubin allows the reader to extend his knowledge and prove that most organisms are composed of the same essential body structures, thus supporting the theory of evolution.

Leave a Reply

