Your Inner Fish Pt. 3

The further that I progress in the reading, the more I realize how lucky we are to have our bodies the way we do. Any slight change to our genetics and we can grow an eye on the back of  our heads, in which that figure of speech I’ve heard from my parents all my life can actually become a terrifying reality. The explanations as to how the development of bodies are simply tubes within tubes, reminds me of the water snake toys I used to play with as a kid (google it, I actually just learned the name of this squishy “slidy” toy tube). I truly think that Shubin is very passionate about everything he is writing. It’s discovering the foundation and starting point for when bodies began forming, cells begin joining, and so many other mind-blowing things that has happened in the past 4.54 billion years. Other things I’ve learned from the reading are how bones contain more collagen as opposed to Hydroxyapatite, the Pax 6 gene tested on mice and flies in correlation with the mutations of these organisms, and I will soon be finding out about the ear. I’m curious as to what it would be like if all our bones were like our teeth, containing high amounts of Hydroxyapatite as opposed to collagen. I would think that we would be much heavier, but what the results be like?

Leave a Reply

